Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Public indecency shield

Outdoor urinals are fairly common in Amsterdam but this is the only one I saw while in Haarlem.

Abandoned bicycle removal

Abandoned bicycles are occasionaly picked up by Haarlem city workers.

Flat bed cycle

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Desert recovery

From Ukraine we traveled to Dubai. We have two days of work here at an attraction that is currently under construction. I am unable to post pictures taken at the site because we are under a nondisclosure agreement. We are not sightseeing so I am not able to show you the sights either.  I can assure you it is hot. 

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Painted trunks

Some of the trees in Kharkov have their trunks painted white. Fifty years ago this was a practice in Ohio. People in Ohio did it as a decoration; they do it in Ukraine to prevent damage from pests- or so that is what I am told. The second image is a micro display of vegetation growing on one of the trunks 

Friday, August 19, 2016

Cycling skirt

I'm not sure what is going on here. I passed this man on the street and could only wonder about his garb. 

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Rollin', rollin, rollin ...

An older piece of equipment on the job site.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Big wheel

Currently working in Kharkov, Ukraine.

Monday, August 15, 2016


I have maintained a regular schedule of posting something each day for several years.  I am going to be on the road and working an irregular schedule so my posting frequency may suffer.  Please bear with me and come along.  I will do my best to share some interesting places.

A work in progress

Saturday, August 13, 2016

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Russian off road vehicle

The Taurus would appear to be a Russian knockoff of a Rokon vehicle produced by Rokon Inc. in New Hampshire.  Both have 2 wheel drive.  The Russian "agricultural motorcycle"  has a top speed of 22mph and is powered by a Honda motor in the 200cc range.  Supposedly in production now and priced at 72,000 rubels (1100 USD).  Additional information available here.

Saturday, August 6, 2016

Friday, August 5, 2016

Wikov 35

Aerodynamics in 1932.  After translating read more about the Wikov company here.

Wednesday, August 3, 2016