Saturday, August 29, 2015

Beam me up

This early home on wheels was designed by Walter J. Thompson in the mid 1920's.  It featured a stove, refrigerator, sink , and sleeping accommodations for four people.  The roof was raised by a series of gears.

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Bicycle jumble


Friday, August 21, 2015

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Monday, August 17, 2015

Sam's twin turbo diesel motorcycle

I just saw this yesterday at justacarguy.  The video makes me smile- what a fun toy!  The first video he refers to can be seen here.

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Friday, August 14, 2015

Rasta dog?

No, it's a Puli.  A small to medium breed of Hungarian herding and livestock guarding dog known for its long corded coat.  The tight curls of its coat resembling dreadlocks make it virtually waterproof.

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Monday, August 10, 2015

Sunday, August 9, 2015

Thursday, August 6, 2015

Qiandao Lake

Qiandao Lake was formed in the 1950's after the completion of the Xin'an River hydroelectric station. Over 1000 large islands and a few thousand smaller ones.  The lake covers an area of 573 square kilometers while the islands are about 86 square kilometers.

More information on Qiandao Lake can be found here.

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Glaucus Atlanticus

The glaucus atlanticus is a species of small, blue sea slug.  They float upside down on the surface tension of the water and are carried along by the wind and current.  They feed on other pelagic creatures sure as Portuguese Man o'War.

Additional information here.

Saturday, August 1, 2015