Monday, March 31, 2014

Sunken treasure

This 1925 Bugatti spent the last 70 years at the bottom of a lake in Switzerland.  It will soon be available through Bonham's auction house.  Even though only 20% of the parts are salvageable they expect it to bring $100,000- 130,000.  This brings a whole new meaning to the term Rat Rod.

Read the story and see more images here.

Sunday, March 30, 2014

Slow Life

Daniel Stoupin created this macro time lapse video from 150,000 photographs he took of aquatic life. Stoupin shares information on his work in this blog entry.

Friday, March 28, 2014

Billy Joel with Jimmy Fallon

iPad users click here to watch the video

Monday, March 24, 2014

Sunday, March 23, 2014

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Starling Murmurations

On February 3 I posted a video that tracked bird movements.  I recently received the link to this video on starlings.  I have no love for this bird species but have to admit that Dylan Winter's video of their movements is rather fascinating.

iPad users click here to view the video.

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Holi festival

An Indian man takes a rest from the Holi festival.  Holi is a traditional Hindu celebration marking the end of winter.  They cover each other in vibrant colored powders and water.  It would appear to be a rockus dance party.  More colorful images at The Big Picture.

Modeled on a drop?

Sunday, March 16, 2014

Rather shy singer's audition

There is some pre and post performance video that you may or may not be interested in watching. Her introduction begins at 1:00.

iPad users click here to watch the video.

Full tilt boogie

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Coming to a store near you??

Walmart has unvieled a prototype truck built in collaboration with Peterbilt, Great Dane Trailers and Capstone Turbine.  The trailer is made entirely of carbon fiber and is 4000 pounds lighter than current trailers in use.  The truck shows a 20% aerodynamic improvement over conventional designs.

Additional photos and information are available here.

Friday, March 14, 2014

Thursday, March 13, 2014


Walkers is a UK based snack food company that is offering Cajun Squirrel flavored potato crisps (chips).  I wonder what prompted them to name the flavoring that is used as Cajun Squirrel?  All I know is what is posted here.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Alfa Romeo Bat 7

Alfa Romeo/Bertone concept car from 1954

Sunday, March 9, 2014

White Space

Interesting loft conversion; see additional images here.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Face peel

Selective attention test

There are two "teams" represented here.  White Shirts and Black Shirts.  Both teams will be passing basketballs to other members of their team.  The test is to count how many times the White Shirts pass the ball among themselves.

iPad users click here to view the video.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Secluded beach

Near Kapaa, Hawaii (Kauai)

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Bring on the chocolate

Dark chocolate is good for you and now they know why!